Aigburth Cricket Ground in Liverpool, England, is the home of Liverpool Cricket Club. The club was founded in 1807 and is the oldest amateur sports club in Merseyside. The pavilion that sits at the Aigburth Road end of the ground is the oldest at a first class cricket ground. It was designed by Thomas Harnett Harrison and built in 1880.

The ground hosted its maiden first-class cricket match on the 13th and 14th June 1881, when Lancashire CCC hosted Cambridge University and lost by 7 wickets.

The first time that Liverpool Cricket Club hosted an international team was in 1896 when the Australians beat Lancashire by 217 runs, the Australians visited on 8 other occasions (in 1899, 1902, 1905, 1909, 1912, 1921, 1926 and 1930). The final fixture saw the great Don Bradman play at Aigburth in a drawn 3-day match. Bradman declared afterwards that Aigburth was one of his favourite grounds in the world.

On the 24th, 25th, 26th August 1932, Gloucestershire visited Aigburth to play Lancashire in a game that saw 2 First Class records set that stand to this day. Gloucestershire’s first innings total of 514 and Wally Hammond’s individual score of 264 remain unparalleled, although Gloucestershire could only draw the match with Lancashire.

In the 1950’s and 1960’s Lancashire often played 2 county championship fixtures at Liverpool Cricket Club and in 1973 the venue hosted its only Women’s One Day International, a 60-over match between an International XI Women and Trinidad and Tobago Women during the Women’s World Cup which the International XI Women won by 7 wickets.

The all conquering West Indies team of the 1970’s-1980’s toured England in 1984 and prior to their 5-0 test series victory against England, the West Indians played a tour match against Lancashire at Aigburth. A 7,633-strong crowd watched the match on the 29th May and saw Gordon Greenidge scored 186 not out in the West Indians total of 297 for 6 in 55 overs. Inspite of a knock of 94 from Graeme Fowler, the West Indians won by 56 runs. Greenidge’s innings was his highest List-A score at Liverpool Cricket Club.

While Old Trafford Cricket Ground was undergoing a renovation in 2011, Lancashire played 6 matches at Aigburth and the move away from Old Trafford coincided with Lancashire winning the County Championship for the first time since 1950, and outright for the first time since 1934. Lancashire won 4 out of their 6 matches at Aigburth with victories against Sussex, Somerset, Yorkshire and Hampshire.

Liverpool Cricket Club are always proud to host Lancashire fixtures and in 2017 hosted the Lancashire Lighning vs Northamptonshire Steelbacks Royal London One Day Cup 50-over contest on 5th May and also the Lancashire Lightning vs Leicestershire Foxes T20 Blast fixture on 9th July which Leicestershire won off the last ball.

On 23rd August 2017, the Women’s Cricket Super League fixture between Lancashire Thunder vs Southern Vipers was held at Aigburth.